Celebrating leaders throughout the creative community and upholding a commitment to diversity, Culture Creators hosted its fourth annual “Innovators & Leaders” Awards Brunch at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in the International Ballroom on Saturday,June 22. It was hosted by Tanika Ray, co-host of EXTRA, and DeMarco Morgan, co-anchor of CBS2 News This Morning.

Check out Bryon Allen’s “Culture Chat”, and photos of the event below!

This year, businessman, television producer, comedian, philanthropist, and founder, owner, and CEO of Entertainment Studios, Byron Allen accepted the Icon Award. His acceptance of the honor was preceded by a Culture Chat that engaged attendees, moderated by Amy DuBois Barnett, the EVP, Digital + Chief Content Officer of The Grio—an Entertainment Studios-owned platform.<

Michael Ealy presented James Lopez with the Culture Creator Award for Film & Television Excellence, while Marsai Martin spoke directly to young girls of color who don’t feel like they belong, as she accepted her honor of Innovator of the Year.

Check out the full list of honorees, below.

Additionally, attendees of the gala were first to hear an exciting announcement from Andréa Richardson, Director, Multicultural & Diversity Relations and Global Corporate Affairs at Hilton.

On behalf of Hilton, she announced a new initiative between the leading hotelier and Culture Creators: The HBCU Summit. This event will allow Culture Creators to extend its impact on our world today with their expanded resources.

More information on the partnership will be forthcoming.

The event also welcomed corporate partners such as Hilton, Don Julio Tequila, Pepsi, and Lexus. The exclusive invite-only gala maintained its status as one of the most sought-after and influential events of BET Awards Weekend for the fourth consecutive year. 2019 saw the event expanded and evolved as it highlights the achievements of thought leaders, philanthropists, executives, entertainers, artists, and other pillars of African American culture in an intimate setting among key players.

Talent from this year’s gala included: Past Icon Honoree Sylvia Rhone, Lalah Hathaway, Ryan Destiny, Lecrae, Chris Chalk (When They See Us), Omar Bolden, Brandon Marshall, Mona Scott-Young, Van Lathan, Kendrick Sampson, and more.

These “Culture Creators” continue to set the pace for diversity in the fields of entertainment, music, sports, and beyond.

The list of 2019 honorees:

Innovators & Leaders Award 2019
Icon Award
Byron Allen
Founder, Chairman, CEO
Entertainment Studios
Innovator of the Year
Marsai Martin
Actress, Executive Producer
Film & Television
James Lopez, President Will Packer Productions
Tiffany R. Warren,
Senior VP, Chief Diversity Officer for Omnicom Group
Founder & President, AdColor
Morgan DeBaun, Founder & CEO Blavity Inc.
Iddris Sandu, Entrepreneur
Phyllis Newhouse
Founder & CEO of Xtreme Solutions, Inc. and Founder of ShoulderUp
Quality Control Music: CEO Pierre “Pee” Thomas and COO Kevin “Coach K” Lee
Antoine Phillips
Vice President, Brand and Culture Engagement, GUCCI
Alexys Feaster
Senior Director Player Development, NBA
Simphiwe Ndzube

See more exclusive photos courtesy of The Purple Agency below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also On Stuff Fly People Like | SFPL: